Patients First® Patients First® is a registered trademark of the Alberta Medical Association.

May 5, 2020

Honourable Tyler Shandro Minister of Health Officer of the Minister of Health 423 Legislature Building 10800 - 97 Avenue EDMONTON AB T5K 2B6

via: health.minister@gov.ab.ca

Dear Minister Shandro:

Re: The Alberta Medical Association is our Representative

The Section Presidents of the Alberta Medical Association, PCN Leads Executive, Academic Medicine and Health Services Program Council Co-Chairs, and the Zone Medical Staff Association Presidents formally inform you that the AMA remains as our exclusive representative in all matters concerning dealings with the Alberta government. As such:

- We unanimously reject any unilateral actions taken by this government with respect to physician services
- We will not be entering into discussions without representation from the AMA

The AMA is, and will continue to be, our representative on all matters including, but not limited to:

- Physician compensation
- Alternate Relationship Plans terms and conditions
- The Schedule of Medical Benefits
- Policies including physician supply and physician recruitment

We urge you to take action to resume negotiations in good faith towards a mutually acceptable outcome that will be in the best interest of all Albertans. During this pandemic the physicians of Alberta will be there to support Albertans!

Sincerely,

Alberta Medical Association Section Presidents:

Dr. Krishna Balachandra Dr. Craig Pearce
Section of Addiction Medicine Section of Anesthesia

Dr. Stephen Tilley Dr. John Mullen

Section of Cardiology Section of Cardiovascular and Thoracic Surgery

Dr. Michael Stubbs Dr. Yasmin Majeed
Section of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry Section of Chronic Pain

Dr. Mitra Arjang Dr. Robert Davies

Section of Clinical Assistants Section of Diagnostic Imaging

Dr. Paul Parks Dr. Doreen Rabi

Section of Emergency Medicine Section of Endocrinology and Metabolism

Dr. Craig Hodgson Dr. Naseem Hoque

Section of Family Medicine Section of Gastroenterology

Dr. Arlie Fawcett Dr. John Graham

Section of General Psychiatry Section of General Surgery

Dr. Monica Hill Dr. Oscar Larios

Section of Generalists in Mental Health Section of Infectious Diseases

Dr. Clinton Torok-Both Dr. Michel Sauve

Section of Intensive Care Section of Internal Medicine

Dr. Brinda Balachandra Dr. John Walker

Section of Laboratory Physicians Section of Medical Oncology

Dr. John Bradley Dr. Scott Wilson
Section of Nephrology Section of Neurology

Dr. Walter Hader Dr. Duncan McCubbin

Section of Neurosurgery Section of Obstetrics and Gynecology

Dr. John Hickie Dr. Michael Bering
Section of Occupational Medicine Section of Orthopedics

Dr. Eduard Eksteen

Section of Otolaryngology - Head and

Neck Surgery

Dr. Michelle Bailey Section of Pediatrics

Dr. James Wolfli

Section of Plastic Surgery

Dr. Shaun Loewen

Section of Radiation Oncology

Dr. Steven Katz

Section of Rheumatology

Dr. Preston Wiley

Section of Sport and Exercise Medicine

Dr. Peter Metcalfe

Section of Urology

Dr. Srini Chary

Section of Palliative Care

Dr. Rajpal Thiara

Section of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation

Dr. Albert De Villiers

Section of Public Health and Preventative

Medicine

Dr. Michael Roman

Section of Respiratory Medicine

Dr. Edward Aasman

Section of Rural Medicine

Dr. Scott Johnson

Section of Thoracic Surgery

Dr. Robert Turnbull

Section of Vascular Surgery

PCN Physician Leads Executive:

- Dr. Ernst Greyvenstein
- Dr. Jordan La Rue
- Dr. Justin Balko
- Dr. Helen Akosile-Xulu
- Dr. Fredrykka Rinaldi

Academic Medicine and Health Services

Dr. Piush Mandhane

Program Council Co-chairs:

• Dr. Maeve O'Beirne

Zone Medical Staff Association Presidents:

- Dr. Fredrykka Rinaldi
- Dr. Scott Beach
- Dr. Edmund Barker
- Dr. Ernst Schuster
- Dr. Craig D. Hodgson