# **Minutes**

# 117th Annual General Meeting

#### of the

# Alberta Medical Association (CMA Alberta Division)

## October 3, 2022

1. The 117<sup>th</sup> Annual General Meeting of the Alberta Medical Association (CMA Alberta Division) was held on October 3, 2022, via Zoom webinar.

#### 2. Call to Order

Dr. Carl Nohr presided as speaker and declared the  $117^{th}$  AGM in session and duly constituted at 7 p.m.

The meeting commenced with the playing of the national anthem.

#### 3. In Memoriam

Forty-three members passed away since the last AGM. A moment of silence was held as the names were displayed.

Sanjay Achal

Blair Roy Amundsen Douglas Morris Asp Philip W. Asplin Ian Hamish Bailes Deegraj Beeharry Howard Kenneth Boake

Jose Luis Bustillo Gabriel Thomas Cahill Ross Dugald Campbell

**Robert Chen** 

Alasdair Reid Drummond Brian Herbert Du Heaume Neil Fraser Duncan

Robert Frederick Fairbairn Ronald McWilliam Fraser John Lloyd Gosbee

Thomas Hardin Rex Wendell Jordan Lloyd Anthony Koller Jonathan Patrick Lee

Robert Arthur Hallgren

Richard C. Lundeen Stephanie Gay Mah Bohdan Marynowski Malcolm Scott McPhee Shawkat Shafik Michel Someshwar Singh Nakai James Andrew Nixon David Gaetan Patry Eugene Jerry Rudnisky Elizabeth Margo Schwab

Norbert Erhard Schweda

Oliver Seifert

Ronald James Smith Francis Patrick Spence John Harry Sprague George C. Stewart-Hunter Gary Edward Swanson Wilford Cyril Tetz Allen Francis Trautman John Conway Wagner David George Wyse

Page 2

#### 4. Minutes, Meeting of September 28, 2021

The minutes of the AGM of September 28, 2021 were accepted as circulated.

## 5. President's Valedictory

Outgoing AMA President Dr. Vesta Michelle Warren reflected on her term as president and on its challenges and accomplishments. She thanked the directorate for its support during her term.

#### 6. Installation of AMA President

CMA President Dr. Alika Lafontaine said a few words on behalf of the CMA prior to commencement of the installation of Dr. fred Rinaldi as AMA President 2022-23. Dr. Rinaldi gave her inaugural speech as incoming President.

## 7. Report from the Committee on Financial Audit

Dr. Heather La Borde, Chair, Committee on Financial Audit, presented the report from the committee. There was an opportunity for questions following the presentation.

#### MOTION: Moved by Dr. Heather La Borde:

THAT the Auditor's Report and the audited Financial Statements for the Alberta Medical Association for the year ended September 30, 2021, be received for information.

CARRIED

## MOTION: Moved by Dr. Heather La Borde:

THAT the firm of PricewaterhouseCoopers be reappointed as auditors for the Alberta Medical Association for the 2022-23 fiscal year.

**CARRIED** 

#### 8. Report from the Nominating Committee

Dr. Alison Clarke, Chair, Nominating Committee, presented the report from the committee. There was an opportunity for questions following the presentation.

### **MOTION:** Moved by Dr. Alison Clarke:

THAT the following Nominating Committee's proposed slate of 32 representatives to the CMA General Council 2023 be approved. (Note: The AMA President attends by virtue of the position):

- President-Elect
- Immediate Past President
- Speaker or Deputy Speaker
- Ten representatives to be named by the Board
- Eleven representatives to be named by the Nominating Committee
- Two physician appointees of the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Alberta, at least one of whom must be an elected member of the Council
- Two deans or designates from their offices
- Two student representatives
- Two PARA representatives

**CARRIED** 

#### 9. Report from the Committee on Bylaws

Dr. Brock Debenham, Chair, Committee on Bylaws presented the report from the committee. There was an opportunity for questions following the presentation. Amendments to the AMA Bylaws proposed by the Committee on Bylaws were debated; the motions were not passed.

# 10. Member-Proposed Amendment to AMA Bylaws

AMA member Dr. Earl Raber presented a proposed amendment to the AMA Bylaws. There was an opportunity for questions following the presentation. The member-proposed amendment was debated; the motion was not passed.

## 11. Elections/Nominations

# Election: Speaker

Following the Call for Nominations conducted prior to the meeting, Dr. Carl Nohr was elected by acclamation to a 3-year term (2022-25) as AMA Speaker.

#### **Election: Deputy Speaker**

Following the Call for Nominations conducted prior to the meeting, Dr. Gerry Prince was elected by acclamation to a 3-year term (2022-25) as AMA Deputy Speaker.

#### **Nominations: Nominating Committee**

Nominations were sought for six positions on the Nominating Committee:

- Three members for two-year terms (2022-24)
- One member for a one-year term (2022-23)
- Two members for one-year terms as alternates (2022-23)

#### Nominations were received for:

- Dr. Olumide Asaolu
- Dr. Bertus Eksteen
- Dr. Arlie Fawcett
- Dr. Jon Hilner
- Dr. Duncan McCubbin
- Dr. Matthew McIsaac
- Dr. Sudhakar Sivapalan
- Dr. Kenneth Stewart

Note: An election took place via e-vote following the meeting.

Elected to a two-year term as Nominating Committee Member (2022-24):

- Dr. Duncan McCubbin
- Dr. Arlie Fawcett
- Dr. Olumide Asaolu

Elected to a one-year term as Nominating Committee Member (2022-23):

Dr. Matthew McIsaac

Elected to a one-year term as Nominating Committee Alternate (2022-23):

- Dr. Jon Hilner
- Dr. Sudhakar Sivapalan

# 117<sup>th</sup> Annual General Meeting October 3, 2022

Page 4

# 12. Board Report to the AGM

Dr. Warren and Dr. Rinaldi presented the Board Report to the AGM. There was an opportunity for questions with the Board and senior executive staff following the presentation.

# 13. Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 10 p.m.