# CONFIDENTIAL

# Minutes

116<sup>th</sup> Annual General Meeting

# of the

Alberta Medical Association (CMA Alberta Division)

# September 28, 2021

1. The 116<sup>th</sup> Annual General Meeting of the Alberta Medical Association (CMA Alberta Division) was held on September 28, 2021, via Zoom webinar.

## 2. Call to Order

Dr. Carl Nohr presided as speaker and declared the 116<sup>th</sup> AGM in session and duly constituted at 7 p.m.

The meeting commenced with the playing of the national anthem.

#### 3. In Memoriam

Forty-four members passed away since the last AGM. A moment of silence was held as the names were displayed.

James Chin	Michelle Hucul	Marvin Mitchell
Shekoufeh Choupannejad	Raymond Hulyk	Joe Myburgh
Norman Chychota	Noel Jampolsky	Michael Owen
Lorne Collins	Laura Kosakoski	Abdulquddus Qureshi
Phillip Cummins	Roopee Kumar	Thomas Paton
Ruth Ann Dickson	Bernard Lee	Anil Prakash
John Empey	John Lipinski	Walter Reynolds
Mohammed Feroz	James McCaffery	Ernest Rogan
Finlay Fairfield	William McGeachy	Wajid Sayeed
Bijan Hamidi	David McGowan	David Shragge
Bruce Hedges	David Miller	Michael Shuster

This document may contain sensitive information about AMA members or association activities. Please ensure that it is stored securely and dispose of the material appropriately when it is no longer required.

# 116<sup>th</sup> Annual General Meeting September 28, 2021

Dartana Sioe	Theodore Siwak	Noel Williams
Parviz Somani	Ernest Takacs	David Wilox
David Spence	Geoffrey Taylor	Brent Wray
Marvin Starko	Ronald Wensel	

## 4. Minutes, Meeting of October 5, 2020

The minutes of the AGM of October 5, 2020, were accepted as circulated.

## 5. President's Valedictory

Outgoing president, Dr. Paul Boucher, reflected on his term as president and on its challenges and accomplishments. He thanked the directorate for its support during his term.

## 6. Installation of AMA President

CMA President Dr. Katharine Smart, said a few words on behalf of the CMA prior to commencement of the installation of Dr. Vesta Michelle Warren as AMA President 2021-22. Dr. Warren gave her inaugural speech as incoming president.

#### 7. Report from the Committee on Bylaws

Dr. Fredrykka Rinaldi, member, Committee on Bylaws, presented the report from the committee in the absence of chair Dr. Brock Debenham. There was an opportunity for questions following the presentation.

#### MOTION: Moved by Dr. Fredrykka Rinaldi:

THAT proposed substantive amendments to the Bylaws outlined in the 2020-21 Annual Reports be authorized and approved.

CARRIED

## MOTION: Moved by Dr. Fredrykka Rinaldi:

THAT the existing bylaws of the association be rescinded in their entirety and the bylaws as amended by resolution passed at this Annual General Meeting held on September 28, 2021, be adopted.

CARRIED

## 8. **Report from the Committee on Financial Audit**

Dr. Heather La Borde, Chair, Committee on Financial Audit, presented the report from the committee. There was an opportunity for questions following the presentation.

## MOTION: Moved by Dr. Heather La Borde:

THAT the Auditor's Report and the audited Financial Statements for the Alberta Medical Association for the year ended September 30, 2020, be received for information.

CARRIED

## MOTION: Moved by Dr. Heather La Borde:

THAT the firm of PricewaterhouseCoopers be reappointed as auditors for the Alberta Medical Association for the 2021-20 fiscal year.

CARRIED

## 9. **Report from the Nominating Committee**

Dr. Alison Clarke, Chair, Nominating Committee, presented the report on behalf of the committee. There was an opportunity for questions following the presentation.

#### MOTION: Moved by Dr. Alison Clarke:

THAT the following Nominating Committee's proposed slate of 34 representatives to CMA General Council 2022 be approved: (AMA President attends by virtue of position)

- President-elect
- Immediate Past President
- Speaker or Deputy Speaker
- Ten representatives to be named by the Board
- Thirteen representatives to be named by the Nominating Committee
- Two physician appointees of the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Alberta, at least one of whom must be an elected member of the Council
- Two deans or designates from their offices
- Two student representatives
- Two PARA representatives

#### CARRIED

The following members were nominated for election to the following positions on the Nominating Committee: one member for a two-year term (2021-23) and two members for one-year terms as alternates (2021-22):

- Dr. Edward Aasman
- Dr. Brinda Balachandra
- Dr. Peter Laratta
- Dr. Usha Maharaj
- Dr. Linda Mrkonjic
- Dr. Richard Owen
- Dr. Rithesh Ram

Note: An election took place via e-vote following the meeting. The following members were elected: To the two-year term as a member (2021-23):

• Dr. Usha Maharaj

# 116<sup>th</sup> Annual General Meeting September 28, 2021

To the two one-year terms as alternates (2021-22):

- Dr. Brinda Balachandra
- Dr. Rithesh Ram

#### 10. AMA Awards

A video of award recipients and their accomplishments was presented.

## 11. Board Report to the AGM

Dr. Warren presented the Board Report to the AGM. There was an opportunity for questions with the Board and senior executive staff following the presentation.

#### 12. Closing Remarks

Dr. Warren provided closing comments and thanked all members for their attendance and contribution to the Annual General Meeting.

## 13. Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 9:30 p.m.