# **Minutes**

# 118th Annual General Meeting

#### of the

# Alberta Medical Association (CMA Alberta Division)

# October 3, 2023

1. The 118<sup>th</sup> Annual General Meeting of the Alberta Medical Association (CMA Alberta Division) was held on October 3, 2023, via Zoom webinar.

#### 2. Call to Order

Dr. Carl Nohr presided as speaker and declared the 118<sup>th</sup> AGM in session and duly constituted at 6:30 p.m.

The meeting commenced with the playing of the national anthem.

#### 3. In Memoriam

Thirty-eight members passed away since the last AGM. A moment of silence was held as the names were displayed.

Adedotun Ajibade Ronald I. D. Anderson Friedrich Horst Bauer Noorali Hussein Bharwani William G. Campbell Barry Leon Caplan Paul H. Collins

William Lavern Crooks
Ralph George Dahl
Robert Wayne Elford
Fabio Ferri De Barros
Ehor William Gauk

Charles Verner Godberson

George Goldsand Robert Gordon

Thamsanqa Joseph Goso Heather Ruth Graham John Kenneth Graham Charles Herbert Harley Daniel G. Johns Andrew Kaegi

Christopher Eric Klapatiuk
Joseph Alec Kostiuk
Clemens Pak Yue Lee
James Kit-Sang Ma
Ian Donald MacLeod
Clifton Lloyd Nelson
Thomas A. Peebles
Donald Robert Ramsay
Alexander Johannes Smith
Joanne Suk-Wah Tse
Kenneth Etienne Turnbull
Orest Alexander Ulan
Christopher James Varvis
Richard Brent Voszler
Mamoru Watanabe

Alfred Richard F. Williams

Warren K. Yunker

### 4. Minutes, Meeting of October 3, 2022

The minutes of the AGM of October 3, 2022 were accepted as circulated.

# 5. President's Valedictory

Outgoing AMA President Dr. fred Rinaldi reflected on her term as president and on its challenges and accomplishments. She thanked the directorate for its support during her term.

#### 6. Installation of AMA President

CMA President Dr. Kathleen Ross said a few words on behalf of the CMA prior to commencement of the installation of Dr. Paul Parks as AMA President 2023-24. Dr. Parks gave his inaugural speech as incoming President.

#### 7. Report from the Committee on Bylaws

Dr. fred Rinaldi, Chair, Committee on Bylaws, presented the report from the committee. There was an opportunity for questions following the presentation.

# MOTION: Moved by Dr. fred Rinaldi:

By special resolution, that the proposed amendments to the Bylaws in the report of the Committee on Bylaws be accepted, and that the existing Bylaws be rescinded, amended, and replaced accordingly.

**CARRIED** 

## 8. Report from the Committee on Financial Audit

Dr. Heather La Borde, Chair, Committee on Financial Audit, presented the report from the committee. There was an opportunity for questions following the presentation.

# MOTION: *Moved by Dr. Heather La Borde:*

THAT the firm of PricewaterhouseCoopers be reappointed as auditors for the Alberta Medical Association for the 2023-24 fiscal year.

**CARRIED** 

# 9. Report from the Nominating Committee

Dr. Arlie Fawcett, Chair, Nominating Committee, presented the report from the committee. There was an opportunity for questions following the presentation.

### MOTION: Moved by Dr. Arlie Fawcett:

THAT the following Nominating Committee's proposed slate of 28 representatives to CMA General Council 2024 be approved. AMA President attends by virtue of position:

- President-elect
- Immediate Past President
- Speaker or Deputy Speaker
- Ten representatives named by the Board
- Nine representatives named by the Nominating Committee
- Two deans (UoA, UoC) or designates from their offices
- Two student representatives
- Two PARA representatives

**CARRIED** 

#### 10. Elections/Nominations

# Elections: Speaker and Deputy Speaker

Dr. Carl Nohr (Speaker) and Dr. Gerry Prince (Deputy Speaker) were elected to three-year terms in 2022; the next election will be held in 2025.

# Nominations: Nominating Committee

Nominations were sought for three positions on the Nominating Committee:

- One 2-year term as Nominating Committee member (2023-25)
- Two 1-year terms as Nominating Committee alternate (2023-24)

### Nominations were received for:

Dr. Neelam Gupta

Dr. Jill Konkin

Dr. Ryan Oland

Dr. Sudhakar Sivapalan

Following the meeting, nominees were contacted for willingness to stand for election; two nominees withdrew. Thereafter, an election was held via e-vote (only AMA members who attended the AGM were eligible to vote). Terms on the Nominating Committee were awarded as follows:

Dr. Jill Konkin, Edmonton, Family Medicine, Member (2023-25)

Dr. Sudhakar Sivapalan, Psychiatry, Edmonton, Alternate (2023-24)

Vacancy, Alternate (2023-24)

#### 11. Board Report to the AGM

Dr. Rinaldi and Dr. Parks presented the Board Report to the AGM. There was an opportunity for questions with the Board and senior executive staff following the presentation.

#### 12. Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 9 p.m.